Welsh Baccalaureate Qualification

The Welsh Baccalaureate Qualification (WBQ) is an exciting qualification for students in Wales that adds a valuable new dimension to the subjects and courses already available for 14 to 19 year old students. It combines personal development skills with existing qualifications like A-levels, NVQs and GCSEs to make one wider award that is valued by employers and universities.

The Welsh Assembly Government introduced the baccalaureate to transform learning for young people in Wales. It gives broader experiences than traditional learning programmes, to suit the diverse needs of young people. It can be studied in English or Welsh, or a combination of the two languages.

This qualification is available at three different levels: 1 (Foundation), 2 (Intermediate) and 3 (Advanced).

For further information visit the WBQ website.

Welsh Baccalaureate Qualification website

Principal Learning and Project Qualification (PLQ)

Principal Learning Qualifications are new qualifications that have been developed in partnership with employers and universities. They will give learners an insight into what is involved in an occupational area without committing the learner to a career in that area.

There will be opportunities to experience different styles of learning in different environments such as school, college and the workplace, with an emphasis on practical activities.

The Principal Learning qualifications may be used together with, or instead of, other approved qualifications as part of the Options requirements within the Welsh Baccalaureate Qualification.

They will be available at levels 1 (Foundation), 2 (Intermediate) and 3 (Advanced) of the National Qualifications Framework. Learners taking Principal Learning qualifications must also take the Project qualification at the same level.

The Project/Extended Project Qualifications are freestanding qualifications that will let the learner choose their own topic and develop skills in managing and presenting their learning. If the Project/Extended Project is taken within the Welsh Baccalaureate, the learner will be provided with opportunities to draw upon and integrate their learning from all components of the Welsh Baccalaureate Qualification.

For further information visit the WBQ principle learning qualifications webpages.

WBQ Principal Learning Qualifications web pages

Principal Line of Learning: Society Health and Development

The workforce represented in the Principal Learning Qualification covers health, adult and child social care, other children and young peoples’ services and community justice; together they constitute by far the largest workforce across Wales. Employers are a complex mixture of large public sector organisations, such as the health service and many small businesses in the private, independent and voluntary sectors. Collectively these sectors work closely with each other and place the child, young person, patient, service user or customer at the centre of the services they provide.

Society Health and Development Leaflet

Download the leaflet or contact Jacky Drysdale on jacky.drysdale@ccwales.org.uk for further information.